Tree of Savior: Leveling and Class Overview, 1-20

My last post on Tree of Savior was less than favorable; while my experience grinding from level 36 to 44 did include about an hour of camping mob spawns with an enjoyable group of players, the last hour was tedious, boring, and left me wondering whether or not I wanted to continue playing. After publishing that post I did some research and found that there were a few tricks to leveling that would in theory make things less painful. I also spent a little time looking at builds to help me understand class choices so that I would hopefully make better selections going forward when it came time to advance.

Since then I’ve spent several hours leveling each of the classes (including the archer I deleted and rerolled) and used that opportunity to decide which one I would continue to play. I think I’m going to move forward with the Cleric and build him into a dps monk with support elements as well. However I did enjoy my time with all the classes and do feel a little better about the leveling experience so today I figured I would share my thoughts on both.

Leveling

Before getting started there are a few things you need to know about the way leveling works in Tree of Savior. First of all, the game has something like 200 or more levels before you reach the cap. That would be an insane amount of XP grinding were Tree of Savior to function like other MMOs that gradually take longer and longer for characters to gain a level but thankfully it does not. Instead, there is an XP curve that goes in cycles while you level. Starting off, the leveling will go quickly but as you reach the late 30s and early 40s it will take longer to gain a level. This was where I got stuck grinding. However around 46 the curve resets and suddenly levels take almost no XP and several can be gained within a few minutes. This cycle happens repeatedly throughout the leveling process.

To help push through the grindier bits of the curve, you can save the experience cards you get as rewards and spend them all at once so that the more difficult levels get a little XP boost. Additionally, I’ve learned that Kleipeda is the better starting city (I started in Orsha the first time) with so many more quests to complete along the way so that you don’t have to grind as much. In the first 20 levels I’ve found that to be true. I’ve also found that I needed to take my own advice and really explore every inch of the map and click on every NPC. Quest givers look no different from regular NPCs so you need to talk with them all. If you like lore, you’ll get little tidbits from those who don’t offer quests. When you do run out of quests there are warp scrolls you can purchase to go to the other city, Orsha, and start questing there. Basically there’s no reason to grind, at least not for long.

screenshot_20160403_00010

Wizard (Circle 2)

I had a lot of fun with this class, but the abilities I used were limited. For dealing damage there is Energy Bolt, a spell that will hit the target and enemies surrounding it and earthquake which does area damage in a column in front of you. As with every other class the Wizard also has a basic attack that doesn’t cost SP, Tree of Savior’s resource for all classes. For the first 15 levels or so, the Wizard was extremely power and the two dps skills would one shot just about everything in my path. Earthquake in particular became one of my favorite spells to cast out of all the classes in the game. However the closer I got to 20 the weaker my Wizard was, especially in comparison to the Swordsman and Archer.

screenshot_20160403_00011

Cleric (Circle 2)

The Cleric in Tree of Savior is a melee class that uses a hammer for its basic attack. All of your spells are meant for support, either healing, cleansing, buffing, or debuffing your friends and foes. The healing spell creates a tile on the ground—only one at first but up to 5 with the base class and even more if you advance to Cleric circle 2 as I did—which will either heal an ally who steps on it or damage an enemy. The cleric took a little while to get used to, and it can still be difficult to get the tiles to show up on the ground where I want them, but I like the idea of playing support and I like the way the healing tiles work in this game. Like with the Wizard, damage output seemed great for the first 15 levels with mobs exploding as soon as they stepped on one of my tiles but by level 17 or 18 I noticed a significant change. Both classes are probably best played with a party as the game goes on.

screenshot_20160403_00003

Swordsman (Highlander)

The Swordsman is your basic warrior archetype, and the build that I was following focused on damage buffs for the first 15 levels so I spent most of my time recasting the buffs and then slapping leaf bugs, onions, and “Vubbes” (goblins) with my basic attack. There are other damaging spells you can learn with this class but I didn’t place skill points in any of them until I advanced to the Highlander class and gained access to Cartar Stroke. This is a charged ability that annihilates everything in front of the Swordsman in one shot. I haven’t mention this before, but many of the dps spells like this one have 2 or 3 charges before triggering the cooldown which means you get a few uses in a row. Once buffed, the Swordsman (now a Highlander) was the highest damaging class of them all. Using Cartar Stroked after being fully buffed, I would nearly one shot bosses in the level 17-19 range, which was insane compared to how long it took me to kill the same bosses with the Cleric and Wizard.

screenshot_20160403_00007

Archer (Ranger)

The Archer is still one of my favorite classes in the game however I was not enjoying the Quarrel Shooter like I thought I would and so I started over so that I could choose ranger instead and ultimately be on a better path for playing as a Falconer at higher levels. The archer shoots a ranged bow for its basic attack and has several additional dps abilities to spec into right out of the gate. Oblique shot is the best for leveling purposes as it is an instant cast ability that hits two monsters and usually kills them both. Multi Shoot is good if you have a nice tight grouping of mobs—it will take them all out at once—but it requires charging and has a small area of impact so usually spamming Oblique shot is quicker. While not as powerful as the Swordsman, the Archer was nevertheless a strong contender for highest dps and once I became a ranger and learned the ability Barrage (5 shots in a spread in front of the archer) I could clear entire rooms if they were grouped up right.

 

Leave a Reply

