The Secret World: The Manufactory

Last night my guild invited me to do The Manufactory, one of the new Tokyo dungeons. Unlike the other dungeons I’ve done, this one makes use of the AEGIS system and requires that you have controllers and shields upgraded. I’m nowhere near where I ought to be but I was generously carried along anyway so that I could see the dungeon and learn the fights. And since I did not have my AEGIS shields before we started, they even ran me through the quest required to obtain them first. All in all it was a lot of fun and makes me wish my AEGIS equipment was in better shape as I think the added complexity brought about by the controllers and shields makes for an interesting dungeon.

The fights in The Manufactory were on par with many raid level mechanics I’ve experienced in World of Warcraft and the added AEGIS system meant you had to pay attention to the enemy shields as well as everything else. Player shields were less interesting though; in most cases I was told which one to switch to and then I could forget about it after that until the next time it needed to change. There were a couple of interesting uses where team members had to wear different colored shields but otherwise I don’t think they add as much to the experience as the controllers and enemy shields do.

20160323214802_1

I’m not going to go into the specifics of each fight because frankly I would have to run it again to better understand some of them myself but they were all unique and they all required a high degree of teamwork and a working knowledge of the fights. I can’t imagine what it must have been like trying to learn these bosses for the first time, but then I could say that about almost all of the dungeon bosses in The Secret World. One of the fights, referred to as a game of “rock, paper, scissors” by my Cabalmates had me so confused I just ran around the whole time and tried not to get in the way. But the rest of the bosses I think I could do again without too much additional explanation and I hope that I’ll be able to soon.

I didn’t get any useful loot other than a 2.0 upgrade kit for one of my controllers (which I won’t be able to use for some time, but is still handy to have) but with the double AP event that started I was able to advance my skill wheel respectably for one evening’s work. I didn’t go for any rewards though, just to do something new with my Cabal. And as an added bonus, I was able to get on Team Speak with them for the first time and start to associate real life voices with in game characters.

20160323211048_1

Overall my progress is coming along quite well with the exceptation of the AEGIS equipment; my skill wheel is at 62%, I have two glyphs at 10.4 and third at 10.2, and I can now say that I’ve seen the inside of The Manufactory and completed it. Doing so has me eager to jump back into Tokyo so I think I’ll take a break from the Black Bullion farming I’ve been doing in Shambala for a little while and pick back up where I left off in Kaidan, at the Fear Nothing facility.

 

2 thoughts on “The Secret World: The Manufactory

  1. “I can’t imagine what it must have been like trying to learn these bosses for the first time, but then I could say that about almost all of the dungeon bosses in The Secret World. One of the fights, referred to as a game of “rock, paper, scissors” by my Cabalmates had me so confused I just ran around the whole time and tried not to get in the way. But the rest of the bosses I think I could do again without too much additional explanation and I hope that I’ll be able to soon. ”

    I can tell you, it was fun. My Cabal hit this dungeon the just hours after it was patched into the game. We had no guides available, only some information provided by another group who entered a little before us, and interestingly enough most of the info they provided was wrong. 😀

    All the same, we did beat the dungeon after being there for a long time (over 6 hours), we just were too stubborn to give up. (Getting up for work after just 3 hours of sleep was hell, though, and we decided not to repeat this again any time. 😀 )

    Amusingly enough, when people afterwards asked us on how to do those bosses, we were able to give good advice for all of them but the third fight, which you also mention as being confusing. We in the end beat that one with “everybody puts on over 6k of health, we all stay together, get crazy healing and wait for the knockdowns to happen”. We at that time haven’t figured out yet, how they knocked each other down, we only knew that “somehow” the knockdowns happened and we then were able to kill them. 😀

    In contrast, i yesterday to my utter surprise completed the penthouse the first time in elite difficulty. (Leaving me with an upgrade kit i have no use for any more… *sigh* )

    We originally wanted to testrun our new setup (our old raid group broke down several months ago due to one couple getting a child and their friends moving and neither of them turning up again) for the new york raid, but some obscure bug kept telling us that we would not be the ones controling the playfield and kicked us out. After then going through the list of who of the our group still wanted to do what area, we did the penthouse elite. With some luck will get one through facility nightmare (that will be hell… ) and another through the manufacture elite in the next days.

    I wonder if i’ll actually complete the manufacture breached before you do. Now knowing how many other things one or another member of our reformed group still has not completed, i consider it likely that you get a tourist guide through MFB before we manage to close all other gaps and get the group going there. 😀

    Also:
    “Doing so has me eager to jump back into Tokyo so I think I’ll take a break from the Black Bullion farming I’ve been doing in Shambala for a little while and pick back up where I left off in Kaidan, at the Fear Nothing facility. ”

    Welcome back, Chuck! 😀
    [Not inside that mission, but to the way of playing which I consider more fun that farming and grinding. ]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bah. Me and my talking. As the guilds raid wing only had four people online today, we decided to give MFB a try. I can say, it can be done with four people and every fight there, at least in elite, can be done with leech healing, thanks to the changes for leeching on aegis shields of the patch three weeks ago. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

