The Deadly Tower of Monsters: The Story Continues

Last week I wrote a little about a new single player game I discovered, The Deadly Tower of Monsters. I think I’ve taken more screenshots of this game in 2 hours of playtime than I have of some MMOs after playing for months. There are so many outlandish creatures, settings, and cut scenes that I want to grab pictures of all of them. So here are a few more screenshots from the game, documenting my recent romp through The Deadly Tower.

And since I didn’t really cover the story in detail last time, let me catch you up on the plot. Dick Starspeed crash lands on a strange planet, meets Scarlett Nova, the daughter of the evil emperor, and sets about climbing the Deadly Tower of Monsters in order to overthrow the maniacal monarch.

Also, there’s a giant gorilla.

20160320150451_1

In an effort to save my co-pilot, Robot, I had to brave Nukular Ant Island. Unfortunately I was captured in an effort to rescue him.

20160320150512_1

Thankfully my Robot friend was able to self repair (did I mention I had his missing head?) so it was Robot now rescuing me.

20160320220156_1

Side note, this menu screen is different every time. One time it was the Robot holding Starspeed and then this one is my favorite, with Scarlet holding the Robot.

20160320220732_1

Just look at the realism as my mannequin stunt double is carried away by this ant. Come to think of it, Dick is always getting captured.

20160320220834_1

The full team is finally assembled. Please ignore the dead ant butt ruining our awesome-sauce pose.

20160320221452_1

The giant gorilla is back! This was actually challenging, as I had to run around and up the tower as King Kong’s cousin destroyed the pathway behind me.

20160320222308_1

I caught this little gem right after defeating the ape and sending him off the edge of the tower. Eh, I’m sure they’ll fix it in post-production.

20160320222320_1

So this was fun, after the gorilla pulled me off the edge, I continued to blast him and a few pterodactyls (why not) as I was free falling off the tower.

20160320222411_1

Grape ape is dead, poor fella. Thankfully I don’t have to climb back up from whence I fell, the game includes fast travel so there’s no penalty in moving up and down the tower.

20160320222642_1

The gorilla monster may be dead, but now I must face…. MECHAMELEON!!!

20160320222909_1

“You want to make a monster even scarier, put him in a jar!” -part of the “director’s commentary” during the game.

20160320223214_1

Energy whip… yes please.

20160320224407_1

Need more monsters? Why not try puppies wearing vacuums with Christmas lights.

During this play session I went through several boss encounters or equally difficult enemy waves and they were all very challenging. The last one, which began with the two dogs wearing the vacuum cleaners on their heads took me a while to figure out because I was being shot at from several different directions and frequently my own shots would bounce off the mobs. Eventually I learned where to shoot and to avoid my enemies’ shots ricocheting all over the place (sometimes getting them to hit each other) but it took several tries. One of the neat things I discovered is that after I defeated them, the bodies of those two vacuum-dogs could be used as meat shields for as long as they were on the ground allowing me to avoid or deflect other enemies.

All in all I am even more pleased with how this game plays than I was after the first time I fired it up. Everything including the story, the visual themes, the gameplay mechanics, and the boss fights are all top notch. I can’t wait to see how the story ends and I hope to spend more time just exploring the tower and completing achievements along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

