Side Fling

When I downloaded the client for Blade and Soul, it was with the understanding that I had no long term interest in the game, I simply wanted to kick the tires and take it for a spin around the block. Having played for about a week now, I am enjoying the game quite a bit more than expected, but still see no real future. That’s okay though, not everything has to be a lifetime commitment and who knows? Given enough time I might find myself at level cap with at least one character, not that I have any aspirations to do so.

In fact, that’s one of the things I find so enjoyable about playing Blade and Soul; with no real interest in staying long term, there’s a lot of freedom in how I spend my time in game. For example, when I was creating my first (and later second) character, I was a far more experimental than I would generally be with a first character. For example, when I made my Gon Kung Fu master I decided to give him purple skin and raspberry hair, a descendant of the great, Grape Ape. Later, when I was making a Lyn Blade Dancer (why are they the only race that can play this class?!?) I went all kinds of crazy and ultimately ended up with a cross between Tom Selleck and Sonic the Hedgehog.

Screenshot_160202_006

And there have been other advantages to playing an MMO that I have no real future with. Inventory space in this game is a premium with items I have no idea whether or not I’ll need them in the future quickly taking up all my space. No worries though, since I’m just passing by I vendor that junk and move on because I won’t stick around long enough to regret it. With a game I’m really committed to, I generally try to be thorough—reading quest text and exploring as much of each zone as I can (at least until higher levels when I get antsy to reach the end) but I don’t really care with Blade and Soul. Sometimes I listen to the voice actors but mostly I skip through and get back to the pew pew.

I like setting down roots in the MMOs I play and I’m not looking to change that in The Secret World or in Black Desert when it releases next month. But in a game like Blade and Soul where my interest is marginal it actually makes for a relaxing experience. Perhaps what I should take from this is that even in MMOs I do enjoy and plan to stay with for the long haul I should relax a little. Go ahead and give that character pink pigtails and a lobster tattoo. Skip that boring fetch quest and don’t worry about completing every last thing in a zone. And for the love of all that is sacred in this virtual world, stop eyeing the end game as if it’s going to disappear if I don’t get there quick enough.

How long will I be playing Blade and Soul? I can’t say for sure but I’ve got a feeling February 29th will be the last time I look at the game for a while. But until then, I’m going to enjoy playing as a tiny blue squirrel-man and go beat up some bandits. After all, what’s the point of playing games if you can’t have a little fun?

2 thoughts on “Side Fling

  1. I’m enjoying B&S a lot more than I expected, too. Of course, I play all MMOs the way you’re describing, whether I’m there for a day or a decade, so that’s not the reason. It’s quite charming and rather pretty is the main reason. Also very easy so far (Level 8) which is a huge plus in my book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always describe this to others as a “popcorn MMO”–just like the chop socky wuxia movies/anime it borrows ideas from, it’s just good, obnoxious, boisterous fun. I’ve embraced most of what it’s throwing down.

    It ain’t a home. It barely counts as a virtual world. But boy is it fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

