High Rez Images: Photo-bombed

Once again my featured screenshot for the week comes from Trove because… that’s pretty much the only game I’m playing right now. A new patch dropped this week and with it a new form of gameplay, Challenges. Every hour on the hour players are given 20 minutes to clear a certain number of dungeons in a specific biome in order to earn a variety of rewards. The jury is still out on whether this will be fun over the long haul, but for now I enjoy the hourly race with other Trovians.

2015-06-18 051124

However I’m easily distracted and would often find myself taking a detour mid-flight to the next dungeon. Most of the time it was to mine infinium, but a few times it was to take a screenshot of an interesting dungeon design I had never seen before. Enter the Trove pinball machine. I thought the old arcade game dungeon was pretty cool but this pinball machine takes the prize. My first shot went well, I captured the name “Trove” emblazoned on the side which was what first caught my attention. I didn’t realize it was a pinball machine right away, but oh buddy, once I did I hopped on up to the top to take a look.

The dungeon itself is inside the pinball machine and you can view it through the glass top. It’s not terribly interesting to look at, but I definitely give the developers credit for their overall dungeon design. There are often little (or big) nods to the history of gaming— an appropriate direction for a retro-style voxel based game— and they can sometimes be a little tricky to maneuver the first time through with maze-like features and platforming elements.

2015-06-18 051137

I didn’t have time to actually try the pinball machine dungeon, so I went for the quick screenshot so I could get back to my challenge and that’s when I got photo-bombed, literally. I think I must have been standing near the boss which caused it to spawn one of these mini-cannons. Although the boss must have been beneath the glass the cannon spawned next to me above the dungeon and took a pot shot at my head while I was trying to take a selfie. It’s okay mini-cannon, I kind of feel the same way about selfies.

Once the photo-bombing culprit was dealt with I was able to get the intended screenshot however now I’m fonder of the one with the little guy. It’s so hard to capture action screenshots in Trove because you have to physically type in /screenshot which is why most of mine are pretty basic. Having anything more than just my character in the image is a welcome change. I almost feel bad about blowing him to voxel bits.

2015-06-18 051148

Leave a Reply

