High Rez Images: The Office

The NBI is over along with the #NBI2015Safari hosted by Murf, but that’s not going to stop me from writing about a screenshot every week, dangit! That’s right, I’m going to continue the concept started by Murf and make it a weekly series, “High Rez Images,” or at least that’s what I’m calling it until I come up with something more clever.

2015-05-23 174718

If you haven’t noticed, I kind of enjoy playing Trove. A little. For whatever reason this game has gripped me and despite my desire to continue making progress in SWTOR, every night when I break out my laptop it’s Trove that I log into to. So for this week I’d like to share a screenshot from one of my favorite dungeons in the game. It doesn’t look like it, but this dungeon is actually in Candoria, the biome inspired by the Candy Barbarian class.

Candoria looks like Neapolitan ice cream decorated with carnivorous gummy worms, lollypops, and licorice men. When you enter the dungeon in question, it is decorated in much the same style with pools of fudge, gum drops, and peppermints. But as you travel deeper into the heart of the dungeon, you find yourself in a corridor with no apparent exit. However if you look down, you notice several narrow openings in the floor. Dropping through those slots will land you in… an office? Yeah, I was a little confused when I first experienced this place. There are desks, chairs, a water cooler, a printer, and even a separate room for management.

2015-05-23 174925

Once again it will seem like you’ve reached a dead end. That’s when your bombs (or any abilities your class may have for destroying the landscape) come in handy. Lob one of those bad boys at the glass wall in the office and you’ll find yourself in the control room of a James Bond villain, complete with a map outlining the hostile takeover of the entire Trovian world! Who is this evil mastermind? Well, he kind of looks like a cupcake. We’ll call him the Confectionary Kid.

The reason I like this dungeon so much is because it is one of the few that breaks free of the thematic restraints in its biome and places you in an unexpectedly ordinary location, an office complex. One that just so happens to be masterminded by a cupcake. Go figure.

5 thoughts on “High Rez Images: The Office

  1. I love this idea! I’m also carrying over the screenshot safari, but for me, it’s going to be filler posts. When I have that super busy day, or when I just don’t have anything flowing around in my brain to write. 🙂

    I love the name, too! I vote to keep it! ^_^

    The dungeon looks and sounds like so much fun!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

