What’s a Liebster Award?

Well, I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award (was there ever any doubt?). Before I get started answering some very important questions, I’d like to offer a great big thanks to Braxwolf Stormchaser for nominating me for this award. I’m new to both the Twitter scene and the world of blogging and Braxwolf is one of those people who has made me feel quite welcome. And as silly as it may sound, inviting me to be a part of these Liebster award nomination shenanigans illustrates the support and comradery I’ve seen in this MMO blogging community.

So thank you Braxwolf from the bottom of my heart, for making me fill out your stupid 1970s chain letter. I’m teasing, you’re adorable; don’t be so serious.

Mother_Gothel-5


  • How did you get started blogging?

I’ve been blogging for a little over a month— my first post went up on February 2nd, 2015 and I recently published my tenth post. I had been thinking about starting a blog for several months before actually giving it a go but it took Massively closing up shop to motivate me to pull the trigger. I’m not entirely sure why that was the catalyst. Maybe it was because the Massively forums and podcast had been the place where I interacted with the MMO community and I was unsure where to join in the conversation once it was gone. Whatever the case, I’m glad I started.

  • Your current boss fires you. Are you happy or sad?

Definitely sad. I love my job. I get to be creative, work with amazing people, and as an employee of a small yet growing business I have a lot of opportunity to solicit my own ideas for improvements to the higher ups. So long as I need an income for necessities like food and MMO subscriptions, it’s a great place to be.

  • Why do you think I nominated you for this award?

Well my first guess would be because I’m charming, good natured, and a superb writer. But then again it could be the twenty bucks I promised to anyone who would nominate me for the award (check’s in the mail Braxwolf).

  • What’s the origin of your blogging name?

“Waiting For Rez” materialized after staring at my computer monitor for half an hour and it has two meanings. The first (and most obvioius) is a reference to raiding or other forms of group content in which I spend most of my time tanking the floor, waiting to be resuscitated at the end of the fight. The second meaning is theological and is a reference to the bodily resurrection promised by God in the Bible. The apostle Peter wrote this to the first century church in Jerusalem, “set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ” and that is where I want my focus to be, waiting for the final rez from God and living every day in light of that reality.

  • Which blogger would you like to meet in real life and why?

I would like to meet Syp from Bio Break and Bree from Skycandy because I have been listening to them for so long on the MassivelyOP podcast and its predecessor which means I get to hear them talk all the time yet regrettably I am unable to subject them to the same.

  • What is the thing you like most about yourself?

It has taken me years to come to a kind of peace with this aspect of my personality, but I will never be an expert at anything because I enjoy sampling everything. For years I wanted nothing more than to find that “one thing” I excelled at and would define me as a person. However I never stayed with anything long enough to be considered an expert. Instead I’m more of a perpetual learner and explorer. I fully engage in seemingly random new disciplines, crafts, people groups, or hobbies to understand the inner-workings as best I can and then move on to the next shiny thing that catches my eye. I used to hate this about myself and cross my fingers that I would finally stick with the elusive “one thing.” Now I’ve come to terms with this wanderlust as a part of who I am, to be embraced rather than despised. It helps me relate to a wider range of people and makes me a better sideways thinker.

  • Do you regret anything that you’ve written, tweeted or said on a podcast?

Not yet, but give it some time.

  • What role of the holy trinity of tank/dps/healer fits your personality most?

That’s a tough question. I’m not sure which one actually fits my personality most, but I know the one I want to be— the tank. I’m a reluctant, timid leader in real life but at least during my time in World of Warcraft for those 15-30 minutes in a dungeon run I was decisive. Competent. A stalwart shield between the onslaught of evil and my wards. I would like to be that kind of leader in real life, dedicated to protecting my friends and family and leading them through difficult situations in life, bearing the brunt of the assault on their behalf.

  • If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

I would be the Incredible Hulk. Does that count as a super power? He was not a favorite of mine in the early days of comic book collecting but in college I began to appreciate the simplicity of his raw, unbridled physical strength and the inner struggle of Bruce Banner to control the beast within. Bruce Jones I think was the writer at the time, and what he was doing with the character was amazing.

Plus the costume. No one rocks purple pants like the Hulk.

  • What are the three major elements of your ideal video game?

Rather than speak of general elements I like in a game, I’m going to list games I’d like to Frankenstein into one ideal MMO and why. First I would take the storytelling of The Elder Scrolls Online (applied in a fantasy/western setting) and pair it with Final Fantasy XIV’s dungeons, challenge logs, and end game progression. I’d then combine the class flexibility of Rift with the ability to level all classes on one character from Final Fantasy XIV to ensure that I can continually move forward with one character and still try all the class options. Combat would come from World of Warcraft, as would the members of my guild. There must also be a race of rat-folk like the Ratonga of Everquest 2.

  • If you were to start up a video game company, what would you name it?

Really Weak Gaming Co.


Now that we’ve settled that, I’m nominating the authors of the following blogs for the Liebster Awards:

Party Business

Occasional Hero

Growing Up In Azeroth

Gamer Girl Confessions

Bio Break

Skycandy

And I invite them to answer the following questions:

  1. How did you get started blogging?
  2. What ability or skillset do you most admire in others but personally lack?
  3. You’re a long forgotten celebrity from the 80s looking to make a comeback. Which reality show do you make an appearance on and why?
  4. What’s the origin of your blogging name?
  5. Which blogger would you like to meet in real life and why?
  6. What is the most important thing you’ve learned from blogging?
  7. What work of fiction would you like to see made into an MMO virtual world that hasn’t been done already?
  8. What role of the holy trinity of tank/dps/healer fits your personality most?
  9. If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?
  10. If you could cut and paste your favorite games into one mega-ultra-super MMO, what would it look like?
  11. If you were to start up a video game company, what would you name it?
One thought on “What’s a Liebster Award?

  1. Pingback: Liebster Awarded Once More | Growing up in Azeroth

Leave a Reply

